W Series to feature alongside F1 in USA and Mexico in 2020

W Series, single-seater championship for female racing drivers only, will stage all-new races in USA and Mexico this coming autumn, alongside Formula 1. W Series’ USA race will take place at Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, on Saturday October 24th, and W Series’ Mexico race will take place at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez in the capital, Mexico City, on Saturday October 31st.

“We at W Series are absolutely delighted that, in only our second season, our championship has been welcomed by Formula 1, and we’re utterly thrilled that the final two races of the 2020 W Series season will therefore take place as part of the Formula 1 platform,” said Catherine Bond Muir, Chief Executive Officer, W Series.
“A lot of work has gone into stitching the W Series / Formula 1 deal together, but above all I want to thank W Series’ drivers, the brave and talented young women who captured the imagination of the sporting world last summer. Mark my words: they’ll do so again this year, from May to October, all over the world,” added Catherine.

Jamie Chadwick from the UK was the winner of the inaugural W Series in 2019.

The two all-new W Series races will form an exciting championship-deciding ‘double header’, held on consecutive weekends, and will be rounds seven and eight of the eight-race 2020 W Series championship.

“We are delighted to welcome W Series to two such spectacular events of the 2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship such as those in Austin and Mexico City. In just one year, W Series has contributed significantly to increasing interest in the topic of diversity and inclusion in motorsport,” said Ross Brawn, Managing Director, Motorsport at Formula 1®.
“The ability for the great crowds who traditionally attend the Austin and Mexico City Grands Prix to see these talented female drivers up close will definitely further raise the awareness of the importance of inclusion and diversity in motorsport,” continued Ross.
The full 2020 W Series championship calendar is therefore as follows:
St Petersburg, Russia: May 30th
Anderstorp, Sweden: June 13th
Monza, Italy: June 27th
Norisring, Germany: July 11th
Brands Hatch, UK: August 23rd
Assen, Netherlands: September 5th
Austin, USA: October 24th
Mexico City, Mexico: October 31st

Photographs by W Series.